Marik Survival Deck – 7 Trails to Glory

latest-2
Yugioh 7 Trails of Glory is a 2005 game I played obsessively for the last 11 years. In the Mystic Land, where you get to right against Marik, Dark Bakura, Dark Yugi, and the Ghouls, no card limits or ban lists exist. The dark world and its temple of the dead are a fun playground to try out all sorts of crazy decks with little limitations.

I love playing survival duels and creating decks specialized for survival duels. For those who don’t know, survival duels are when you duel one opponent after another without losing, challenging yourself to go as far as you can. The trick is to create a deck that keeps giving you more life points so you don’t wear out over the marathon while still able to kill your opponent.

Monsters:
3x Black Luster Soldier – Envoy of the Beginning
3x Chaos Emperor Dragon – Envoy of the End
3x Banisher of Light
3x Vorse Raider
2x Magician of Faith

Spells:
3x Pot of Greed
3x Graceful Charity
3x Card Destruction
3x Raigeki
3x Harpy’s Feather Duster
3x Monster Reborn
3x Soul Absorption
2x United We Stand
2x Primal Seed
2x Sebek’s Blessing

Side Deck:
3x Magic Jammer
3x Ring of Destruction

The deck honors Marik, who uses a Chaos Deck in the game. From 2004 to 2006, Chaos Control Decks were the metagame deck. They were all the rage, yet I never owned a Black Luster Soldier or Chaos Emperor Dragon in my life. At least in the game I can drink some of the power so many players had back in the day.

The main strategy to gain life points is to summon Chaos monsters while you have Soul Absorption, which heals you each time you banish monsters. Banisher of Light exists for the same reason, making both players banish cards. Sadly the game has a glitch where I gain life points only when my cards are banished. Primal Seed lets me retrieve any banished card I want, allowing me to use them again. If conditions are right I can create a Primal Seed loop where I can keep banishing one Primal Seed and recovering it with another one, allowing me to get every banished card in my hand.

The second strategy is to use United We Stand to pump up monsters to huge attacks, then deal damage with them, allowing me to use Sebek’s Blessing to heal myself by that amount. I take extra care to not finish off my opponent with such a strong monster so I can gain life points first. I reserve the killing blow to a second, weaker monster.

The other cards are staples. Pot of Greed and Graceful Charity let me draw a lot of cards. Raigeki and Harpy’s Feather Duster clear my opponent’s field so I can kill them. Card Destruction has many functions: it sends monsters to the graveyard so I can summon Chaos monsters, lets me draw more cards, and kills Seeker, the Ghoul who uses an Exodia deck, by discarding Exodia pieces. Playing Card Destruction while I have Banisher of Light out completely ruins his strategy.

Magic Jammer exists for normal duels. It’s the best trap to use against Ghouls because they use so many spell cards in one turn, so Magic Jammer helps disrupt their strategies. Ring of Destruction is a good second trap. Unlike Mirror Force, you can activate it almost whenever you like, can avoid being nullified by a Heavy Storm, and it deals damage to your opponent.

Leave a Reply

