FTK Exodia Deck – 7 Trails to Glory (Version 1)

latest-1

Yugioh 7 Trails of Glory is a 2005 game I played obsessively for the last 11 years. In the Mystic Land, where you get to right against Marik, Dark Bakura, Dark Yugi, and the Ghouls, no card limits or ban lists exist. The dark world and its temple of the dead are a fun playground to try out all sorts of crazy decks with little limitations.

Monsters:
2x Exodia the Forbidden One
2x Left Leg of the Forbidden One
2x Right Leg of the Forbidden One
2x Left Arm of the Forbidden One
2x Right Arm of the Forbidden One
2x Witch of the Black Forest
2x Sangan

Spells:
3x Painful Choice
3x Pot of Greed
3x Graceful Charity
3x Upstart Goblin
3x Card Destruction
3x Monster Reborn
3x Premature Burial
3x Dark Hole
2x Thunder Crash

Side Deck:
3x Reload

The deck tries to gather all five Exodia pieces in only one turn. Sometimes it succeeds and other times it takes an extra turn or two. I made great effort to make the deck as fast and consistent as possible but I can only go so far. Backup Soldier and Dark Factory of Mass Production are not in the game, which would make the deck go much faster, but I can only use what I can.

This deck requires a sophisticated strategy. Painful Choice is the crux of the deck. Without it, gathering Exodia pieces is harder. The first time I use Painful Choice, I send all the searchers (Witch and Sangan) to the graveyard, so I may revive them with Monster Reborn and Premature Burial, kill them with Dark Hole or Thunder Crash, letting me add Exodia pieces to my hand. The second time I use Painful Choice, I toss away Monster Reborn, Premature Burial, or Thunder Crash, depending on my situation.

I still struggle whether to put Reload or Thunder Crash in my deck. They have their advantages and drawbacks: Reload gives me more chances to assemble the cards I need in my hand. Thunder Crash resolves inconsistencies in the deck; like gathering Monster Reborn and Premature Burial but not having Dark Hole. It’s still up in arms but I spent so much time playing Yugioh last week I don’t want to waste any more time.

Leave a Reply

